The Library (Or Why I will be reading more books in the month of February than I have in about a year)

So I just finished reading Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James, but decided not to review it.  It’s been on the New York Times Best Sellers list for quite some time now.  If you haven’t read it yet and are thinking about it, it’s more because you’re curious what all the fuss is about instead of anything I might have to say.

 

I’m probably going to jump into my next book later today and, while I’ve always been a fast reader, this is much more than my normal pace.  For those of you who have started following me (I have to admit I’m pretty excited that anyone is interested in what I have to say) I just want to throw it out there that as time passes I will probably settle into more of a book-a-week kind of pace.

 

As I started thinking about wanting to do this blog, I realized that I didn’t want to be spending more money to do it.  Then I remembered a friend of mine who has spoken about going to the library before and it hit me that I hadn’t stepped into a county library in years.  On Thursday I checked out the website for my local one, and found out they also lend out e-books.  So I went right over and got myself a library card.

 

Right away I decided to get myself on the wait-list for a few titles I’d been thinking about, since I had no idea how long those wait-lists would be.  Imagine my surprise when after seeing I was #22 on the list for Fifty Shades that I got the email saying it was ready for me to borrow a couple hours later.  Out of the five books I was waiting for, I’ve already gotten emails for three of them.  (I decided to bump back the first Game of Thrones book for now)

 

I’m sure I’ll run into books that I just can’t wait for and authors that my library won’t carry down the road, but for now this is a really great way to try some new books without spending a dime.

 

 

Leave a Reply

