Book Review: The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

Something that is probably important for you to know before this next review is that I love dogs.  I grew up with dogs and currently own two.  So when I saw that this book was from the perspective of a dog, I knew I had to read it.  So here is my review of The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein.

The Art of Racing in the Rain

This book is narrated by a dog and right up front you find out that this is going to be his whole life story.  Some people just aren’t going to like the personification of a dog, but I’m guessing if you think that would bother you then you aren’t going to read it.  Also since this does cover Enzo’s whole life, I shed a couple tears at the very end.

Now if you couldn’t guess from the title, there is also a lot of talk about racing in this story.  I don’t watch NASCAR, probably couldn’t name more than two or three drivers, and really haven’t spent more than a couple minutes ever watching racing on tv.  So when Enzo made comparisons to the racing world, I didn’t really follow them all that closely.  That was okay though, because as far as I’m concerned this is the story of a dog and his family.

I really liked this book.  I’ve never read anything from the perspective of a dog so as far as i’m concerned it’s an original idea.  It’s not the most realistic plot you’ll ever read, but it’s a book told from a dog’s perspective so going in I knew I’d be pushing boundaries on what I believed.  I laughed, cried, and felt good when I was done.  So I’m giving this book five out of five stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Captivated and Entranced by Nora Roberts | I am Sam Tule

  2. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Reviews | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

