Did Not Finish

So I was hoping I was always going to finish the books I picked up with the intention of reviewing, but I just don’t think that is going to happen.  I kept going back and forth about what I wanted to do with this blog and my plans on reading books in general.  I would feel better just putting down a book for good and moving on to something else that I would be able to finish and talk about.  I would rather do that than just vanish for weeks while trying to force myself through something I don’t want to read.

The Tiger's Wife

 

The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht was the first book I stumbled on in the library and decided to give a try.  According to my tablet I got 40% through this book, and had almost no idea what was going on.  Between jumping between points in time in the narrator’s life and the weaving in of fables, I just couldn’t follow it.  If you are thinking about giving this one a try, I would take a look at some of the reviews on Goodreads.  There’s an interesting mix of people who liked the story and it’s creativity and who (like me) found to be be over their heads.

 

Commencement

 

Next was Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan.  I didn’t get nearly as far in this one as I did the Tiger’s Wife, but this might be more about the timing than actually something I am never going to finish.  After a chapter and introduction to the four main characters, I just wasn’t quite hooked on the idea of them having a relationship that lasts throughout college.  Since it was also a random library download, I’ve decided to just return it and move on to something else.

 

One thing that also probably drove me for the early return is that I recently saw the deal on Amazon for the Hunger Games Triology for $5.  As of right now it’s still on there, but I’m not sure how much longer it will last (quick disclaimer I don’t actually own a Kindle but downloaded the free app onto my tablet).  I had borrowed the first book a couple months ago, and thought it was okay, but didn’t want to wait for my friend to finish for the others.  Still…who can resist 91% savings!  I haven’t decided for certain, but I’m leaning towards reviewing the three books independently, so that will be next up on my list.

 

Leave a Reply

