Book Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I’ll start out with the fact that I am fully aware I am late to the party on this one.  When I heard this was a story where a bunch of kids are forced into killing each other in the name of a game…I just wasn’t interested.  Given that I wasn’t planning on reading this (or the other two books) I didn’t go out of my way to avoid any spoilers.  I also saw the movie before reading the book.

 

Okay enough disclaimers: Time for my thoughts on The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

 

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)

 

I’m pretty conflicted about how I feel about Katniss.  When we first meet her she is the provider for her family, the adult in the situation.  I have never been a fan of stories that have a useless parent (it’s almost starting to get cliche), but thankfully we soon leave the mother behind and on to the Capitol.

 

As the story keeps going I decided that I really don’t like Katniss.  She’s sullen and manipulative.  What surprised me is that I realized it’s the only way that the story would work.  If she was someone that I would want to be friends with, she wouldn’t survive the games.  As for Peeta I am going to reserve judgement until Catching Fire, since he wasn’t given the whole picture until the very end of the book.

 

When I post a rating I go along with the phrasing on Goodreads.  This was one of the harder ones to score, but when push comes to shove I just liked it.  So I’m giving it three out of five stars.

 

As soon as this is posted I will get started on Catching Fire…so stay tuned.

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Hunger Games Trilogy (a Book Review Follow-up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

