Book Review: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I told you I’d be back soon…and it really did take no time for me to get through the next book.  So here is my review on Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

 

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)

 

I’m starting to see why people are so crazy about this series.  There really is a lot to like.  What blew me away was the minor characters, particularly those that were on the side of the rebellion.  From Cinna to Johanna you had these characters who did what they could do best in order to protect the cause.

 

The one thing that I am still having a hard time with is the idea of Katniss as the Mockingjay and essential face of the rebellion.  I think Peeta says more than once that she has no idea the impact she has.  I just think if I was to start a rebellion, I’d want a more willing person.  You have Finnick who is older, handsome and generally well-liked by the public.  He’s also willing to lay down his life to keep the Mockingjay safe in the name of the rebellion.  I’m just saying if there was a vote for Mockingjay he would have mine.

 

Also I have to give Suzanne Collins some props for the last line of the book.  If I had a wait a year for the finale after reading that…I would not have been happy.  That’s when you know you did something right.  Overall I’m giving Catching Fire four out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Hunger Games Trilogy (a Book Review Follow-up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

