Book Review: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Much faster than I expected, I’m finished with the Hunger Games Trilogy.  So here is my review for the finale Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

 

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)

 

Whew…I’m exhausted.  A lot happened in the final story.  I think the best thing about this story was that no one had all of the right answers and everyone fell into a grey area at best.  As much as I’d like to think that in a similar situation I would do better, the world of Panem is not one where people can have all the right answers.  The flip side of this is almost everyone (Katniss included) did some things that looked like the wrong call.  Some of the bad choices the characters made hurt more than others.

 

On the short list of characters that did seem to do things right, they generally did not make it to the final pages.  I understand that there’s no way for everyone to make it to the end in a story that has a final battle.  I was just dissatisfied with the storytelling of the deaths themselves and Katniss’ look back on them (as compared to say Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and the finale battle and epilogue there).

 

The bottom line is that while I had a hard time putting this book down, when I think about it as part of the trilogy, it was just okay.  So I’m giving Mockingjay two out of five stars.  If you average out the three books I’m giving the Hunger Games Trilogy three out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Hunger Games Trilogy (a Book Review Follow-up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

