Book Review: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife by Linda Berdoll

Are you judging me for this one?  It’s okay I’m judging me a little bit too.  I was in the mood to read so while wandering around available e-books in my library I found this one and just figured ‘Oh what the hell…how bad can it be’.  Oh silly me.  Here is my review of Mr. Darcy take a Wife by Linda Berdoll

 

Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: Pride and Prejudice Continues (Darcy & Elizabeth, #1)

 

I have in general avoided Pride and Prejudice sequels so I can’t give any impression of how this compares to all of the others out there.  It starts out where the story we know leaves off, and goes into details about what happens after all of the weddings.  Things in general turn out as I would have guessed for most of the married couples.  I will say Jane’s telling of her first few nights with Bingley was a pleasant surprise that had me snickering.

 

The real problem with this story for me is it felt like I spent hours reading fanfiction online and not a published novel.  Much longer than I expected, there isn’t one real cohesive story.  It’s more like a series of smaller partial stories that just happen to occur in a chronological manner.  Births, deaths and travelling all just seem to keep happening without any real direction.

 

Things are even harder to follow with some of the crazy language Berdoll uses.  I guess she was trying to give a more historical feel, but it was messy at best.  It was particularly frustrating when one of the characters was trying to discreetly share some information, and you just had no idea what they were talking about.

 

So to wrap things up – I learned my lesson.  I will leave these characters left where they belong in Jane Austen’s pages.  I did not like this book so it is getting one out of five stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife by Linda Berdoll

  1. Yep, I’ve found very few books set in the Austen world that I truly enjoy. It’s a dicey endeavor: if an author can pull it off, it’ll make many Austenites happy. If not (and invariably it’s the latter), it makes us Austen fans sick and regretful, much like eating far too many Oreos.

Leave a Reply

