Book Review: The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

While I’m doing the Robert Langdon series in the right order this time around, this was actually the first book I had ever read by Dan Brown.  I heard that the Catholic Church didn’t want people to read it…so that was enough for me to bite.  It’s been a while but I still remember the big surprise so I wasn’t sure what I would think.  Here’s my review of The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.

The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, #2)

Particularly picking this up right after Angels & Demons, the overall plot starts to feel a bit more formulaic.  Someone gets killed…there are symbols and references you don’t understand…there’s a girl who’s smart (but not as smart as Robert)…danger…running…figure out the clues!

That being said…the big surprise that is discussed about halfway through the book is a pretty good one.  On the off-chance you don’t already know what it is I won’t mention it, because if you read the book with no idea…it makes it a lot more interesting.  As I mentioned before I’m not a historian and have no desire to look further into the facts…but it is fun to take a moment and wonder ‘What if…”

While not quite as good as the first novel, this is an interesting story that still keeps you turning the pages.  I give it three out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

