Book Review: The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

While I read the rest of Dan Brown’s book a few years back, this was my first time reading The Lost Symbol.  I had heard pretty consistently that it was the weakest out of the Robert Langdom books, so I tried to adjust my expectations accordingly.  Here’s my review of The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

 

The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, #3)

 

I think the word that best describes my feelings about this book is….meh.  Looking at the big threat and conspiracy, I just wasn’t that excited about it.  I also figured out almost from the beginning what the big twist for the villain was going to be, and usually I am fooled by the surprises about the characters intentions.

 

The clues and progress moving around are entertaining as usual.  It was just the new age science plot that just didn’t spark my interest.  It was almost trying to fit somewhere between the scientific threat of Angels and Demons and the huge religious conspiracy in The Da Vinci Code and just pales in comparison to both.

 

My biggest disappointment was also how little DC was used as a setting.  I was excited that we were finally getting a setting in the US and was hoping to see them running around monuments and places I’ve visited.  When compared to Rome and Paris it just fell flat.

 

I still have every intention of reading Inferno when it comes out (currently #218 on the list with the library so it might take awhile).  While a little predictable I still find things I like in Dan Brown’s stories.  This was just the weakest of the bunch so far.  I’m giving it two out of five stars.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

  1. I agree, this was very “meh.” I’m cautiously optimistic that Inferno will get back to the excitement of the other books, Angels & Demons in particular. We are going back to Italy, after all.

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Inferno by Dan Brown | I am Sam Tule

  3. Pingback: Book Review: The Fifth Assassin by Brad Meltzer | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

