Book Review: Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

I don’t like scary movies or anything with too much gore.  When I saw the movie trailer I knew I didn’t want to see it, but when I realized it was based on a book I figured it was worth a look.  Here’s my review of Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

 

Warm Bodies (Warm Bodies, #1)

 

This is basically the story of Romeo and Juliet if Romeo killed and ate Paris.  If you read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies…you already get the idea.  Actually in some ways the two books are very similar.  It’s this juxtaposition of a gross zombie horror with a romance.

 

What makes this different is the first person storytelling.  I found it hard to get into the choppy thoughts and broken style of R’s thoughts in the beginning.  But as he started to change and things started to get cleaner and smoother I really appreciated it.

 

This isn’t a classic I’m going to want to come back to again and again, but overall I have to say that I liked it.  It was something different and a nice change of pace.  I give it three out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

