Book Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling

Most of us have read quite a few books over the years.  From learning to read, to english classes in school to trying to find something fun there have been a lot of stories.  A few of them are good enough to stick with you for the long haul.  This is one of those stories: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling

 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

 

I’m trying to give a fair review, but it’s hard not to be biased about this one.  I got this book as a gift for my 12th birthday.  It was from a good friend who’s aunt worked at either a bookstore or library (it’s been awhile so I can’t really remember).  Well this friend’s aunt really knew her stuff.  My friend read it and loved it and had to share it.  I’m so glad she did.

 

Now as for the story itself.  It really is a simple one.  Going back and rereading it only took me a few hours.  It’s really meant to be a children’s story.  As much as it makes me sad I can understand why some of my peers who didn’t start when they were younger have a hard time getting into it.

 

As a stand alone book it’s a great introduction into characters that will stay with you and a whole world of magic.  The story may be simple but having gotten the chance to come back to it I still really do love it.  I just have to give it five out of five stars.

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books 7.0: Monday’s Update | I am Sam Tule

  2. I know what you mean! When re-reading books from when I was younger, I’m sure I’m influenced by how much I loved them the first time around. And Harry Potter is one I’ll always have a soft spot for 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment! I am going to try and be a little more critical when reviewing the others. I love them all, but I certainly have my favorite and least favorite parts..

  3. These books by JK Rowling are now part of everyone’s world. I doubt there is a person on the planet, well, ok…I doubt there is a person in Western Europe, North America and many other places who doesn’t know something about Harry Potter. They are personal favorites of mine, and have been something I’ve been fortunate to share with my daughter who grew up with them. These will be classics that will go on for generations.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling | I am Sam Tule

  5. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Harry Potter Series (a Book Review Follow-Up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

