Book Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling

I will tell you up front…this is probably my favorite book out of the whole series.  So here is my review of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling.

 

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)

 

While there is no direct threat from Voldemort in this story, I still consider it to be the real start in oh his threat in the present day.  Even though he’s still young at 13, Harry gets a clearer picture of his history and I think it’s the start of his sense of purpose that will come in his future.

 

My one complaint is the time travel.  I’ve never been a fan of it.  At best it’s something that I can tolerate.  More often it just doesn’t make sense because people would either need to have more consequences or why not just go back and redo everything…ever.  Thankfully this isn’t too bad and things will get destroyed behind the scenes in the future (I want to say book 5?) so we don’t have to worry about why we aren’t using it to fix everything.

 

I said before I like how we get a picture of Harry’s history in learning about the Marauders.  What I really love, though, is Lupin.  He’s easily my favorite adult character, and in my top five for the series overall.  He’s really the one who’s basically left behind after the Potter’s death and Black’s capture, but still can come to Hogwarts and be a great teacher and positive influence for Harry.  Like most I have a few literary crushes, and Lupin is one of the longer lasting ones.

 

So yeah this is probably my favorite book in the series…so how can I not give it five out of five stars.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books 7.0: Thursday’s Update | I am Sam Tule

  2. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Harry Potter Series (a Book Review Follow-Up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

