Book Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling

It’s going to be a full weekend if I’m going to finish the series by Monday.  So let’s get right into my review of Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix by JK Rowling

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)

I feel like this is where the trio really starts to grow up.  As Sirius says at one point “The world isn’t split into good people and Death Eaters” (Ch 14 pg 302).  When faced with a new threat of Voldemort’s return, all of the characters we’ve met along the way react in very different ways.  It was a complicated situation, and an interesting one.

Speaking of reactions, Harry drives me absolutely crazy fairly frequently this time around.  I don’t know if it was Rowling’s intention to have this be his chance to be an angsty teenager, but that’s what we got.  The first bit of shouting after being secluded for the start of the summer I totally understand.  It’s just the short temper we see throughout the rest of the book I just didn’t like.

For that I’m going to have to take away a star and give Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix four out of five stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books 7.0: Saturday’s Update | I am Sam Tule

  2. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Harry Potter Series (a Book Review Follow-Up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

