Book Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

“..and to you, if you have stuck with Harry until the very end.” I will tell you the end of the dedication gets me every time.  Here is my review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

 

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)

 

A lot happens in this book.  We get a new legend, a new look at characters we’ve grown to know, and an epic final battle worthy of this kind of series.  It’s hard to get satisfying conclusions for 6 books worth of characters, and I think all things considered Rowling does a good job.  Not everyone gets their happy ending, but in a war like that what kind of family can truly come out unscathed.

 

Leading up to the release of this book, there was one thing I just knew was going to happen.  Harry was going to have to die.  Of course that ended up not being the case.  While I do like that he gets his happy ending in the epilogue, it just didn’t seem to be a clean ending.  I think I would have preferred to see something similar to Lord of the Rings where Frodo saves the world, but cannot stay and live in it.

 

I love this series…I really do.  While I didn’t like every single aspect of the story (I’m looking at you camping scenes) I thought it was a really good conclusion.  I give it five out of five stars.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books 7.0: Sunday’s Update – Success!! | I am Sam Tule

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award: Who me? | I am Sam Tule

  3. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Harry Potter Series (a Book Review Follow-Up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

