Some Last Thoughts on the Harry Potter Series (a Book Review Follow-Up)

So I read all 7 Harry Potter books in 7 days for Bout of Books 7.0.  (See all those 7s…how could I resist).  So for those of you that have no interest in Harry Potter, don’t worry I’ll move on to something different next.  For those of you that missed it, I have links to all 7 reviews below.  Now I just wanted to give some final thoughts on the series as a whole.

As I mentioned before, I got Sorcerer’s Stone as a gift on my 12th birthday.  When I wanted to read Chamber of Secrets it was out, so Prisoner of Azkaban was the first one I really had to wait for.  After that the waits between stories got longer and I started the final book in 2007 when I was 19.  I literally had grown up with these stories.  I remember the epilogue hitting me particularly hard because I was about to turn 20 and these characters I loved were sending off their own kids to school which meant that they got married and had kids in their 20s.

Now that I read the books so closely together, it is interesting to see how different they are. I can imagine an adult who didn’t grow up with the stories having a hard time going from a children’s book in the first to a much more mature final story.  It is a really good story though and I hope the next generation gets to discover it through the books instead of just going straight to the movies.

The last thing I wanted to mention was that this series is really why I’m blogging now.  While killing time waiting for the next book to be released, I found how great the internet was for people like me.  I had already started speculating what would happen next with my own friends who were reading the series, but there was so much more out there.  I found Mugglenet (and will admit I have a signed copy of their book on my shelf next to the actual series) and discovered the world of fanfiction (even attempted it but let’s not go there).

So while the stories alone hold a lot of merit and are worth coming back to every so often, it’s really all the rest that goes with it that is why I have such a special place in my heart for it.  I was able to be transported to a land of magic, and got to know characters that I won’t forget.  Then I was able to take those characters and stories and share thoughts and ideas with other people like me here in the real world.  It was my first look at reading (which is usually a solitary adventure) as a group activity.  That’s why I really love Harry Potter.

Harry Potter Book Reviews

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Book Review

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Book Review

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Book Review

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Book Review

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Book Review

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Book Review

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Book Review

One thought on “Some Last Thoughts on the Harry Potter Series (a Book Review Follow-Up)

  1. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Reviews | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

