Book Review: World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks

I first heard about this when I saw the trailer before the new Star Trek movie and my one friend said ‘Oh that’s a great book’.  It seemed as good enough of a reason as any to read it so I got on the waiting list for the e-book at the library.  Here is my review of World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War

I might have first heard about this from the movie trailer, but had no real interest in seeing it.  I’m not one for gore and really don’t ever watch horror movies in general.  It took me all of a dozen pages to realize that even if I did, this was probably going to be a bad movie.  A tv series maybe, but the jumping around interview-style plot just didn’t seem like it would translate well.

It did however make a great book.  It’s a different style and I can imagine some readers not liking it, but I thought it was perfect.  I was much more interested in seeing bits and pieces of the big picture instead of worrying about getting overly involved in just a few characters.

Also for something so dramatic and out there, I found it to be believable.  I mean if someone told the US government “We think there’s a zombie virus.” You can just imagine them laughing it off and moving on.  I could also see the businessman who takes advantage of people desperate for a cure and the celebrities filming it like a reality show in front of the cameras.  I didn’t like each and every interview, but the nice thing was that I knew I just had to get through a few pages to see something new.

I am really glad I read this book.  It was a unbelievable idea wrapped up in a way that made me see it as a history book from the future.  I give it five out of five stars.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks

  1. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Reviews | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

