Book Review: Inferno by Dan Brown

I had been on the waiting list for a while at my library for this one, so I was really excited when it was finally my turn to give it a try.  Here is my review of Inferno by Dan Brown.

Inferno (Robert Langdon, #4)

I was excited but also a little nervous about this after being so disappointed by The Lost Symbol  but I really shouldn’t have been.  This story brought back a lot of the excitement I expected along with a few new twists.  I really liked the idea of Robert waking up with amnesia.  It make it feel fresh in that it wasn’t so important for him to solve the clues, as to figure out what happened in the time he lost.

What really stuck with me was the ending.  We don’t get the neat little bow of ‘no one will know anything’ that seems to always happen. Without giving too much away (since this is still a fairly new book) I was pretty shocked at what happened.  The more I thought about it though the more I realized I liked it.  As the adventures keep happening we can’t always expect everything to turn out perfectly.

In comparison to the other books I think Angels and Demons is still my favorite between the clues themselves and the overall plot.  There is always going to be a hint of deja vu in these later books and I wasn’t always excited by the ties to Dante’s Inferno itself.  Still I did like this overall so I give it three out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

