Book Review: The Selection by Keira Cass

A few months ago when I did Bout of Books I was exposed to a bunch of bloggers.  One thing I realized was a bunch of them tended to focus more on YA fiction.  In general I had a ‘I graduated from college and am now in the real world…I’ve outgrown YA’ attitude.  After seeing some interesting reviews I decided that I should try and be more open minded if I came across something that caught my eye.  Well this book really did.  Here is my review of The Selection by Keira Cass

The Selection (The Selection, #1)

I was first drawn in by the cover (pretty dresses!) and the synopsis seemed like the perfect summer reading.  I don’t watch the Bachelor but have a couple other slightly-trashy reality-tv guilty pleasures.  I guessed that this would be something similar and it really was.  It wasn’t the greatest story I’ve ever read, but I enjoyed reading it.

My favorite part was probably the relationships between all of the girls.  The dystopian setting might have been a little weak, but I completely believed the interactions the girls had.  With a crown on the line and the cameras rolling I was glad to see a variety of girls in the mix.  You could imagine them being there for generally similar reasons but reacting to the situation in different ways.

So I am currently on the waiting list for the sequel and and looking forward to it.  This was a nice guilty pleasure and if it was ever made into a movie I would probably go see it (if just for the costumes alone).  I give it three out of five stars.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection by Keira Cass

  1. I’ll be honest – I’m post-college and read lots of YA! It’s hard not to when so many book bloggers read and rave about the great new YA books they’ve read. I’d actually like to work at making a little more of fiction reading adult fantasy and sci fi, since these used to be some of my favorite genres and I just haven’t made much time for them lately. I’m glad you enjoyed your foray into a genre you don’t read often 🙂

  2. While I haven’t read this particular book, I have also found a renewed interest in YA fiction as I get more involved in the book blogging community. It’s been a few years since I was in the YA target age, but I’ve found some good reads and been inspired to reread some of my childhood favorites. There’s no shame in that.

    • I think I’m also more willing to take the risk on new stuff when borrowing things from the library. It’s no pressure or money on the line, but gives me a chance to take a risk on something different. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Pingback: Book Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

