Book Review: The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

I decided to read this one after noticing that the sequel had recently come out.  I did see the movie before, so I had some idea of what I was getting into.  So here is my review of The Devil Wears Prada by Laruen Weisberger.

The Devil Wears Prada

My first (and probably biggest) complaint is that I just don’t see how Andy would ever get this job in the first place.  I just can’t imagine a position opening up for a major company in the fashion industry going to someone who doesn’t know or care about fashion.  If it’s the job a million girls would die for, why not pick one of them?  They are more likely to put up with the beating because it’s really worth it for them.  I can completely understand it being a great gateway into a different job in the fashion world.  I just never got on board with the idea that putting that year in is a reasonable step towards Andy’s ultimate goal of writing for The New Yorker.

I am by no means a fashionista but I found the insights to the fashion industry pretty interesting.  It was harsh and petty and something I would rather chew glass than be a part of…but it made for an entertaining read.  In terms of non-fashion characters I also thought Lilly’s story was both gritty and sad.  I didn’t like most of the characters, but I always had strong feelings about them.

I’m curious to see what happens next for Andy-if only because I don’t see her experiences getting her to the New Yorker.  I don’t anticipate rereading this any time soon, but it was not bad.  I give it two out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns by Lauren Weisberger | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

