Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns by Lauren Weisberger

As I mentioned in my review of The Devil Wears Prada, I was interested to see where Andy’s story would go next.  I not very happy with what I got.  Here is my review of Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns by Lauren Weisberger.

Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns

What was so surprising about this was how much it reminded me of really bad fanfiction.  The kind where an ‘author’ posts every week or so and is just making up the story as they go.  Oh I have an idea about Andy and Max meet….flashback! Okay that’s enough of this time…let’s jump ahead a few months!  Not to mention in the last handful of chapters it all just rushes to a close that seems strange and pretty forced.

The one part that I did like was the flashback to Emily and Andy meeting up again.  The remark Emily makes about The New Yorker was pretty spot on and one of my biggest complaints about the first book.  Having Andy look back and admit it was silly to think she would have been on the fast track for writing for them was great.  Honestly I would have preferred for them to have taken that part of the chapter in the cooking class as an epilogue of the Devil Wears Prada and just left it at that.

I only got through this book as fast as I did because I lost power one night and had nothing better to do than read.  Even then it was more of a chore than anything because I found it to be just boring.  I just didn’t like it at all so I give it one out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns by Lauren Weisberger

  1. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Reviews | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

