Book Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

I heard from a friend at work that this was hysterical.  So she lent it to me and I had to give it a try.  Here is my review of Bossypants by Tina Fey.

Bossypants

This is a pretty funny book overall.  It was just not necessarily consistently funny.  I was laughing out loud pretty frequently in the beginning (my absolute favorite part being her hitting puberty and assuming blue liquid is actually what happens) I was just giving the occasional smirk near the end.  Maybe it’s just me and my sense of humor, or the fact that I’ve already seen her bits as Sarah Palin so I had heard those jokes before.

On a more serious note she’s a good role model for women wanting to do well in what’s considered a man’s world.  I’m sure most of the readers aren’t looking to make careers in comedy on tv, but I would think plenty can appreciate wanting to get into a career and end up being the boss someday.

Overall I’m glad that I read it.  It was a nice read that gave me quite a few laughs.  I give it three out of five stars.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

  1. I liked this alot! It could be because I didn’t know anything about Tina Fey going into this (apparently I live under a rock, haha) but I laughed the whole way though 🙂

    • I’ve actually heard that a lot in what people think about books written by comedians. If you’ve heard some of the jokes before you might not laugh as often, but when it’s brand new you’re likely to absolutely love it.

      • That’s interesting! I actually felt a little silly reviewing it having seen hardly any SNL ever, but perhaps it’s good I went into it blind 🙂

Leave a Reply

