Book Review: The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien

Given the way my dad is I was probably always destined to be a nerd, but I think that Tolkien was really my gateway into that world.  Ever since getting through the Lord of the Rings for the first time in middle school I’ve gone back to reread it every other year or so.  I haven’t done that with this one.  Here is my review of The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien.

The Hobbit

I’m almost embarrassed to say it’s probably getting close to 15 years since I have read the Hobbit.  What was great for about that is (aside from having gone to the movie earlier this year) this story was almost brand new for me.  The only thing I had really remembered was the story of how Bilbo found the ring (actually I was pleasantly surprised when I knew the answers to the riddles the first time I saw the movie).  It was pretty amazing being able to be surprised all over again by such a great writer as Tolkien.

The other thing that was also interesting is how different the style of writing is compared to Lord of the Rings.  I know this is more traditionally a book read in middle school, but I had completely forgotten how much easier than LOTR it is to read.  It also has much more of a storyteller-telling-you-a-story feel which I had completely forgotten.

There’s a reason this is a classic.  I really did enjoy discovering it all over again.  While it will never hold the same place in my heart as LOTR, I can’t imagine going this long without rereading it again.  I give it four out of five stars.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien

  1. I think I also have my dad to thank for a lot of my nerdliness, since I started reading his old sci fi books when I ran out of other things to read. Of course my mom is the one who really got me into reading in the first place, so I suppose they’re both responsible 🙂

    It’s great that you enjoyed this so much on the re-read! I also need to do a re-read before watching the movie, but haven’t gotten to it yet. I suspect I’ll still share your preference for LOTR.

Leave a Reply

