Book Review: Thunder Dog: The True Story of a Blind Man, His Guide Dog & the Triumph of Trust at Ground Zero by Michael Hingson

I actually found this as a kindle deal of the day special with Amazon.  It was a complete impulse purchase but I’m glad I got it.  Here is my review of Thunder Dog: The True Story of a Blind Man, His Guide Dog & the Triumph of Trust at Ground Zero by Michael Hingson

Thunder Dog: The True Story of a Blind Man, His Guide Dog, and the Triumph of Trust at Ground Zero

I guess this requires a bit of a disclaimer.  I was 13 when September 11th happened, so I was completely unfamiliar with Michael Hingson’s story.  He is a blind man who was working on the 78th floor of the North Tower of the World Trade Center and this is the story of his day with his guide dog Roselle (and other stories from his life).

Given the topic you can imagine it being an emotional story.  I thought he got a little heavy handed with the religious commentary, but if there ever was an event that had you really trying to find some comfort from a higher power I can imagine this being it.

I also found the other stories about Michael’s life interesting (even if he did repeat a few of the stories like Roselle’s knack for stealing socks).  It was an interesting look into a different point of view.  It’s not necessarily going to be the kind of book you enjoy but I’m really glad I read this book.  I give it four out of five stars.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Thunder Dog: The True Story of a Blind Man, His Guide Dog & the Triumph of Trust at Ground Zero by Michael Hingson

  1. Yes, I don’t know if this is the kind of book I would pick up, inspirational and heart warming as it may be; I just know I’d end up crying and also frustrated if the religious commentary is that heavy. 🙂
    New follower!

    • I’m glad to have you here!

      It’s not consistently heavy with the religious commentary…there was just like one chapter that I was just like ‘hmm I think this is getting to be too much’

Leave a Reply

