Book Review: Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith

This is an older favorite of mine that I haven’t read in awhile.  It was originally published as two separate books (Crown Duel and Court Duel) but I have always read them together.  Here is my review of Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith.

Crown Duel (Crown & Court #1-2)

I think Meliara is probably one of my favorite heroines.  She’s fiesty, charges in without thinking twice…and is more likely than not to just have the completely wrong idea.  As her journey continues she grows and keeps trying to better herself and learn from her past mistakes.

I also love how different she is from her brother Bran.  They have very similar convictions and ideas but go about them in completely different ways.   Throw in some interesting minor characters and a courtship from a mysterious unknown writer and you have a pretty great story.

As I was taking a break from reading it my dog got a hold of it, ripped out about 20 pages and chewed on at least another 20.  Now that I’m finished I know I have to toss it.  I’m going to buy another copy of it…it’s just that good.  I give it five out of five stars.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith

  1. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Reviews | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

