Book Review: The Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy by Sara Angelini

“Contrary to popular belief, my mother did not name me F*cker. It’s Fitzwilliam.”  I saw this quote after the book popped up on my Goodreads feed, and I absolutely had to have it.  Here is my review of The Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy by Sara Angelini.

The trials of the honorable F. Darcy

I like this in the same way I like the Lizzie Bennet Diaries.  It’s a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice and by doing so things need to be different.  Some work better than others, and of course it’s not going to be the same ‘no physically touching’ courtship that we see in the original.  If you are okay with the idea of a fresh faced lawyer in Lizzie Bennett and a respected Judge in Darcy, then you’ll probably enjoy this.

The one thing I was waiting for was Wickham to arrive.  Some characters are more or less important than the traditional characters their based on, but if I was surprised he was left out all together.  I think there was plenty of conflict that we didn’t need to add the full story into the mix, but it just seemed strange to me that he was totally left out.

This is a pretty fun story, but is much longer than it needed to be.  I don’t mind having hot scenes in books I read, but it almost got repetitive particularly after things were wrapping up.  Plus the whole ‘we have to be apart’ thing lasted longer than it needed to.  I think Angelini could have taken out about a hundred pages and tightening things up to make a stronger story.  Overall it was a pretty fun read.  I give it three out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

