Book Review: Fools Rush In by Janice Thompson

I picked this up for free on Amazon a few months ago.  You guys know I’m a sucker for a wedding business story by now right?  Here is my review of Fools Rush In by Janice Thompson.

Fools Rush In (Weddings by Bella, #1)

This started out with a pretty typical working-girl meets a guy when she least expects it.  You have a girl from a loud Italian family and a laid back country boy.  I will admit for the majority of the book I was totally confused as to where all of this was taking place.  I thought they said Texas, but then I thought it was in New York (I can’t imagine anyone living in Texas for an extended period of time being so unaware of Southern ways).  I’m pretty sure it was in Texas but maybe their part of the city was a kind of Little Italy?

The thing that started to bother me was the religious tone it took about halfway through.  I certainly have no problem with characters who care about their faith.  I just start to get turned off when it keeps coming up for every little thing.  I’ll start to write it off almost all together if the characters start acting in ways that I just don’t see being reasonable.  If someone worked hard all day, including getting injured in an accident, and then got punched in the face by a guy looking for a fight…I just can’t imagine the situation being cooled off by a group prayer.  I just don’t see it happening.

Some of the minor stories were pretty fun, and I liked Bella and DJ’s relationship.  This is the first of a trilogy but I don’t think I’m going to go back for any more.  It just really didn’t do much for me overall.  I give it one out of five stars.

 

Leave a Reply

