Book Review: Orange is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison by Piper Kerman

I kept hearing how great the Netflix series for this is, so I figured I had to give the book it was based on a try.  Here is my review of Orange is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison by Piper Kerman.

Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women's Prison - Piper Kerman

I can see why it would make a good tv series.  Sure most of the story is Piper’s but we get introduced to a ton of characters who all have different impacts on her experience in prison.  I think this is probably the strength of the book.  You get all of these characters who are all are responding to the same system in different ways.

My one complaint was that at times Piper was a bit annoying.  There was a significant lag between the time of her crime and when she went to prison, so I get that she’s not the same person who committed the crime.  She kept saying she was no better than any of the other prisoners, but there was an occasion feel of ‘I really shouldn’t be here’ that sometimes rubbed me the wrong way.

Overall I liked this book.  It was an interesting story about something I had never really thought much about.  Next time I end up subscribing to Netflix I will probably also give the tv show a try.  I give it three out of five stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Orange is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison by Piper Kerman

  1. I’ve just read through the first four chapters for a read-a-long and so far I like that Piper is such a different person from when she committed her crime. As someone who couldn’t imagine doing what she did, I think it helped me find her more relatable. I could see where it could get annoying too though 🙂

    • Yeah it bothered me more as time went on. In some ways I can appreciate the idea of ‘is prison really helpful’ when they talk about the stats and how much more crowded it has gotten. Just on the other hand I have a bit of ‘you did the crime go do the time’. Regardless it’s a pretty interesting read that I would think you’d enjoy in a read-a-long.

Leave a Reply

