Book Review: Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce

I loved reading Tamora Pierce’s books back when I was younger.  It’s been quite awhile since I’ve read then so I really wanted to give them another try.  Here is my review of the first Song of the Lioness book Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce.

Alanna: The First Adventure (The Song of the Lioness, Book 1) - Tamora Pierce

As a stand-alone book this isn’t all that strong.  What’s really important is the introduction of all of the characters.  Alanna is a stubborn, fiercely loyal girl who is a pretty memorable character.  Out of all of the other characters (plenty of which I like) I have to admit the prince Jonathan is another one of my favorites.  Maybe his serious nature is not the most realistic way to act for a teenage boy (even one who will be king), but I always was a fan.

This story is labelled as the first adventure, and really is just that.  It’s a simple story that really needs to be the start of a bigger series.  That’s why I give it three out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce

  1. Pingback: Book Review: In the Hand of the Goddess by Tamora Pierce | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

