Book Review: In the Hand of the Goddess by Tamora Pierce

After getting started in the first Song of the Lioness book, I was ready to move on to the next one.  Here is my review of In the Hand of the Goddess by Tamora Pierce.

In the Hand of the Goddess (Song of the Lioness, Book 2) - Tamora Pierce

I like that now that we know who all the characters we get to see a more involved story.  The idea of a girl masquerading as a boy is a pretty simple one, but as people start figuring things out it all gets pretty complicated.  With everyone getting older and taking on more responsibility the stakes are certainly higher.

I tend to hate love triangles but with Alanna being dead set against falling in love it’s a bit easier to deal with.  George and Jon are two very different guys and I like them both.  I guess I’m just glad she’s not the kind of character who is all ‘I love whoever is closest’ which is always a big turn-off.

I’m now halfway through the series which so far has been pretty good like I remembered.  I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

