Book Review: Feed by Mira Grant

A while ago I saw a review over at Cheap Thrills and it really sparked my interest.  So I picked up a copy for myself and finally got around to reading it.  I’m really glad I did.  Here is my review of Feed by Mira Grant.

Feed (Newsflesh, Book 1) - Mira Grant

This is set in the future where not only was there a rising of zombies, but after people have resigned themselves to the fact that this is their new reality.  Imagine a presidential election when ‘How to Protect Yourself from the Infected’ is a legitimate issue to debate.  Another effect of this is the movement of news from the traditional way we think of it to the way of bloggers.  It’s an interesting and really different kind of setting.

That being said the characters we meet and get to know are great.  They were all very different but they balance each other out really well.  Then outside of the bloggers with the political characters is another different bunch.  I found myself caring about all of them.  When we got to the big final showdown…I don’t want to spoil anything, but man my heart.

I have absolutely no idea what is going to happen next, but I can’t wait to find out.  Yes it’s technically a zombie book, but it doesn’t read as just your run of the mill horror story.  This was a really great book and one I recommend.  I give it five out of five stars.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Feed by Mira Grant

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Deadline by Mira Grant | I am Sam Tule

  2. Pingback: 2013: A Year in Reviews | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

