Book Review: Deadline by Mira Grant

Feed was probably one of the biggest surprises for me this year.  I couldn’t wait to jump into the next Newsflesh story.  Here is my review of Deadline by Mira Grant.

Deadline (Newsflesh, Book 2) - Mira Grant

The way things ended in the first story, I really had no idea where things were going to go next.  The news portion is still the same but where we had a political background before has been replaced with science.  There are also a number of characters we only met in passing before who step into larger roles.  It was all pretty different, but I was still completely drawn in.

It’s interesting to see things that we are familiar with and consider present or recent history that are considered back in the day.  The group of adventure seekers in the blogging community are called Irwins (I’m sure this was mentioned in Feed but I completely missed it).  I also really liked a part where they talked about the chicken pox.  Personally I had it when I was in preschool but know kids are now getting the vaccine (my younger sister got it).  It wasn’t more than a page or so, but I thought it was a great addition.

There were a couple things I didn’t like as much as the first book.  POV is the big one, but that was to be expected.  I was also a little confused about how much time passed after the end of the first book.  There was a date thrown out early that had me thinking it was 8 years, but I think in the end it was just under a year.  There was also some conflicting information about the history of George and Shaun’s relationship.  It isn’t that I have a huge problem with how Shaun describes it…it just seems like a pretty big difference from what we saw in the first book.

Sure I liked the first one better but I was still completely sucked in from beginning to end.  I made sure to buy the third one before I started this post.  I can’t wait to see how things turn out.  I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

