2013: A Year in Reviews

I can’t believe 2013 is almost over.  It’s been quite a year.  The biggest (and most obvious) thing to mention here is that I started this blog.  I still can’t believe that I have the followers that I do.  You guys are great.  So let me just take a chance and say….Thanks!!  Now on to some of the highlights.  Or if you will let me be totally cheesy…the Tule-y awards for 2013.

Best Book or Series Reread

Harry Potter series by JK Rowling .  I did this as my challenge for the first Bout of Books I participated in.  It had been a while since I had read the books and a lot of why I’m blogging now.  Adding that into the challenge of seven books in seven days at it was a great reread experience.

Honorable mention: Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith, The Immortals Quartet by Tamora Pierce

Worst Book or Series

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella – Oh man this one made me made.  I also really disliked Confessions of a Shopaholic…but the sequel was worse just because Becky does not remotely learn her lesson.  It’s never a good sign when you are rooting for the people who are yelling at your ‘heroine’.

Honorable mention: Big Girl by Danielle Steel, Revenge Where Prada by Laura Weisberger

Best Book or Series

World War Z by Max Brooks.  This is not the kind of book I would expect to enjoy at all.  I don’t like horror movies, but I really got into this story about the zombie apocalypse and what it would mean to the world.  It was all of the glimpses into the different people we meet which gave what seemed like a really realistic and different story. 

Honorable mention: Feed by Mira Grant, The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

So my goal for 2013 was to read 50 books.  I’ve currently read 80 (and will probably finish number 81 before New Years Eve).  I think next year I’m going to up it to 100 books.  Two reviews a week sounds pretty good for 2014 right?  If 2013 is any indication it should be a pretty great year

Leave a Reply

