Book Review: Blackout by Mira Grant

The Newsflesh series has been quite an adventure and I couldn’t wait to see how it ended.  Here is my review of Blackout by Mira Grant.

Blackout (The Newsflesh Trilogy) - Mira Grant

I’m pretty happy with the way everything ended here.  We even got to tie back to the politics in the end.  Truthfully I would have rather seen more of what was happening in DC than with the Masons, but all things considered it tied together really nicely.  The story had gone a bit away from the original idea, but we get back to the idea of the truth needs to be shared (and that truth has consequences).

My biggest problem….clones!! Ugh I get why it was important to the plot but it is almost like time travel.  I just don’t like seeing it used and at best it’s just barely tolerable.  Sure I can imagine science coming a long way and being able to produce body parts for someone who needs it in the future.  I just don’t see being able to transmit a person’s soul or essence ever being actually possible let alone 30 years from now.  It also is hard to believe that science has made such strides there but can’t get a hold of a zombie vaccine.

I did really like how things tied together.  Sure the story doesn’t really end, but when everything is on such a large scale a cure-all would have been unrealistic.  So yeah the science of this story doesn’t quite work and I didn’t like it as much as the first two, but it was a good ending.  I still liked it, so I give it three out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

