Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I actually got the idea to read this from a review I saw over at Doing Dewey.  Here is my review of Cinder by Marissa Meyer.

Cinder: Book One in the Lunar Chronicles - Marissa Meyer

This is a retelling of Cinderella, but in a new sci-fi way.  Set in some kind of dystopian future where the moon is colonized and adding metal parts to become a cyborg is a normal course of action in medicine..it’s certainly not Disney’s version of the story.  I liked having a more down-to-earth heroine in Cinder and can’t wait to see what is in store for her next.

Nothing is remotely resolved in the end, but with a few more stories on the horizon I can’t really complain much.  We get the bits and pieces we expect from the Cinderella story and a spring board into a bigger tale that will cover the other books.  I think Levana is a great villain (and with all the mirror is supposed to be the evil queen from snow white?) and am looking forward to what she’ll cook up next.

This is a fun and fast read.  When done right I’m a big fan of the stories that do something interesting in retelling classic fairy tales.  I already downloaded the next book to see what will happen next.  I liked it and give it three out of five stars.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | I am Sam Tule

  2. I loved Cinder, although I was a bit disappointed with how unresolved the ending was. I didn’t love Scarlet as much, but I do like how unique these stories are, so I’m still planning on reading Cress 🙂

Leave a Reply

