Book Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

I was pretty excited to see what was going to happen next after finishing up Cinder.  Here is my review of Scarlet by Marissa Meyer.

Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles) - Marissa Meyer

Starting right where we left off in the first book, the plot just got more complicated.  Bringing in the story of Little Red Riding Hood we had just as good of a sci-fi twist as we saw in Cinderella the first time around.  I really liked how they tied it back together to a bigger story instead of just a series of one and done fairy tale retellings.  It’s making for a much more memorable series.

I also really liked how different Cinder and Scarlet are.  Cinder is the reluctant princess who just wants things to slow down so she can see what her best next move is.  On the other hand Scarlet is the one who comes in guns blazing and doesn’t look before she leaps.  I think as we continue through the series it’s going to be great to see them interact more and balance each other out.

I have to wait another month for the third book…and then a year after that for the finale? What a bummer…I really am enjoying this series and just want to see what happens next.  I give it four out of five stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books 9.0 – Day 1 | I am Sam Tule

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

