Book Review: Madame Tussaud: A Novel of the French Revolution by Michelle Moran

This was a total impulse borrow from my digital library.  I just wish I had brushed up a bit on my French history before reading it.  Here is my review of Madame Tussad: A Novel of the French Revolution by Michelle Moran

Madame Tussaud: A Novel of the French Revolution - Michelle Moran

I’m by no means a history buff and it’s been a little while since my AP European history class.  In the end there are a few notes on what is true fact and what the author stretched, but as I was going through I didn’t really notice (and in all honesty don’t really care).  Spanning the French Revolution we are watching history from an interesting news source…a wax museum.  I would have never guessed that would be the way people might see the news, but thinking about how people today are much more likely to watch the news on tv than pick up a paper…I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised.

Marie is also a very interesting person particularly given the time period.  She’s the kind of person you might not necessarily like, but will probably relate to.  She is so ambitious and as the chaos and violence escalates that just turns into the will to survive.  I also found it really interesting how she tried to balance the professional life with her personal one.  That just wasn’t something I was expecting in a story about a woman starting in 1788.

This was a great surprise.  It was very different and an interesting insight into a part of history I don’t usually think about.  I really liked it and give it four out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Madame Tussaud: A Novel of the French Revolution by Michelle Moran

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books 9.0 – Day 4 | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

