Book Review: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

This is one of the reasons I really love connecting with other bloggers who do book reviews.  I get recommendations like this one in things like Twitter chats.  Here is my review of Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.

Ready Player One: A Novel - Ernest Cline

What I really like about this book is how I can imagine it actually happening in the not-too-distant future.  As a society we’re already pretty glued to our screens (myself included).  I could also imagine if the economy were to take a downward turn at the global scale for everyone to want to find that kind of big escape.  Even with this epic quest and escape, there is also a great focus on finding that balance between fantasy and reality.

My one complaint is how things all wrap up in the end.  Given how big and complicated the quest setup is, it almost felt to neat and tidy.  Sure it’s the big bag showdown you would expect…but I guess I just wanted things to be a little less lucky.  There was a little throwaway line that seemed to be a hint at a possible sequel, so maybe that’s what the author had in mind.

Overall this is a really entertaining and different book.  Some of the references that were used as the basis for the quest completely spoke to my inner nerd, and I really flew through the second half of the book.  I really liked it and give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

