Book Review: The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

Have you ever finished a book feeling confused but knowing you absolutely have to see what happens next?  That’s how I feel about this one.  Here is my review of The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd.

The Madman's Daughter (Madman's Daughter - Trilogy) - Megan Shepherd

It wasn’t until I was finished that I found out this was a retelling of The Island of Doctor Moreau.  I hadn’t heard of it, so I can’t say much of anything about how it compares.  It was interesting to get deeper and deeper into the secrets of the island.  It’s by no means a fun story but the kind that just draws you in and keeps you turning the pages.

There is a love triangle which isn’t great, but not the worst I’ve ever seen.  The two young men speak to different parts of Juliet’s personality and I hope in the future books she figures out who she wants to be and then thinks about a relationship.  A lot of information was given at the end, so I’m curious to see how Juliet reacts when she has a chance for it all to sink in.

This is a dark and twisting story with a lot of things still left to wrap up in the rest of the trilogy.  I find it hard to rate stories when I didn’t necessarily enjoy it, but absolutely have to know what happens next.  I give it three out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

