Book Review: The Duchess War by Courtney Milan

I think this is the last on my list of books I added to my list from the Bout of Books twitter chat.  Here is my review of The Duchess War by Courtney Milan.

The Duchess War (Volume 1) - Courtney Milan

I will admit my first impression on this story was not a great one.  I was so confused.  A lot of names were thrown together quickly and I had a rough time figuring out how it all fit together (and the time period itself).  It was probably around a quarter of the way through the book that I really felt good about who all of the players were.

Once I got to that point I did start really enjoying the story.  I like Minnie and Robert and their relationship together.  It’s an interesting pairing that shows there are different kinds of outcasts.  I figure I’ll give the next story a shot and hope that now that I know the setting better I’ll get in to the story much faster.  This was one just okay so I give it two out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: The Duchess War by Courtney Milan

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Heiress Effect by Courtney Milan | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

