Book Review: The Fifth Assassin by Brad Meltzer

I usually have a better eye for this.  This is a sequel to a book I have never read and I really should have.  So with a quick disclaimer about a natural bias, here is my review of The Fifth Assassin by Brad Meltzer.

The Fifth Assassin - Brad Meltzer

The synopsis of this really caught my eye.  Maybe it would be what I wanted but didn’t get in Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol.  I wanted the fast paced action and conspiracy mystery…but with a proper DC setting and looking back at US history.  That aspect of this story was pretty entertaining.  I liked all of the little details of the assassinations (and not being a history buff myself am not all that concerned about their accuracy).

The big glaring issue (which is totally my fault) is that this is not the first book.  I noticed the possibility of that early on, but thought it might be like Dan Brown’s books where outside of the survival of the main character not much was really spoiled.  That is not the case.  I ended up getting tied up in bits and pieces of what is supposed to be the overarching story.  It’s hard for me to say that I really disliked it, when I didn’t have the appropriate starting point for all of them.

I’m probably just going to have to go back and read the first book.  Even if I don’t like the big picture story (which my first impression is suggesting), I am certainly up for another face paced adventure in US history.  I give this three out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

