Book Review: The Boleyn Bride by Brandy Purdy

Every so often I like to read some historical fiction, and a pretty popular time period is with Henry VIII and the rise and fall of Anne Boleyn.  What caught my eye about this book is how it is from the point of view of Anne Boleyn’s mother Elizabeth…I just had to give it a try.  Here is my review of The Boleyn Bride by Brandy Purdy.

The Boleyn Bride - Brandy Purdy

This story is told by Elizabeth Boleyn.  She is a vain woman, a pretty bad mother, but that just makes it all the more interesting.  You already know how the story is going to end, so the real thing that draws you in is the way she tells it.  Her point of view is shaped by her own experiences and opinions, and it’s really refreshing.

The only part that I didn’t like was the very beginning and the very end, which takes place at the end of her life.  Particularly in the beginning I was nervous about what I was getting into because of her long (and sometimes disjointed) train of thought.  I guess we’re supposed to see it as an old woman looking back on her life, but it just wasn’t that great for me.

The bulk of the story is really great.  It’s a fresh take on a familiar story told by a character you won’t really like, but are curious to see what she will do and say next.  I really liked it and give it four out of five stars.

Note: I was given an advanced copy of this for the purpose of reviewing.  The opinions given are completely my own.

Leave a Reply

