Book Review: The Tyrant’s Daughter by J.C. Carleson

I can’t imagine living in a country where I don’t have all of the freedom and options I have right now as a single woman.  Beyond that I couldn’t imagine back in am American high school being dropped out of a situation like that from political turmoil.  That’s why I had to give this book a try.  Here is my review of The Tyrant’s Daughter by J.C. Carleson.

The Tyrant's Daughter - J.C. Carleson

I dabble in YA from time to time.  If the right synopsis catches my eye I will usually give it a try.  Now out in the real world I’m closer to 30 than I am 15 (which is the age of Laila) and that made it a bit harder to relate to her and had me feeling more annoyed with the adults that had such an impact on her life.  It’s a strange thing I know, but I ended up finding myself taking a step back every so often with a little frustration about the whole situation.

Overall it’s an interesting story.  You have this girl who just wants to be good and reconcile all of the pieces in a very complicated situation.  You also get a very different perspective about options and choices we take for granted.  I don’t know much about cultural accuracy, but at the very least it had me thinking about things in a new way.  I feel like I need to add more books like this to my TBR list.  I give it three out of five stars.

Note: I was given an advanced copy of this for the purpose of reviewing.  The opinions given are completely my own.

Leave a Reply

