Book Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

This came up as a book to read in the last Twitter chat for Bout of Books, so when I found it in my library I had to give it a try.  Here is my review of Attachments by Rainbow Rowell.

Attachments: A Novel - Rainbow Rowell

I wanted to like this book, and there were certainly things about it that I enjoyed.  I just couldn’t get on board with the start of a relationship being from one party spying on the other for an extended period of time.  Maybe if Lincoln had actually started talking to Beth sooner and they played up the physical chemistry sooner?  It’s not that I thought Lincoln was a total creep, but if I were Jennifer I would have at least thrown one punch upon the first face-to-face follow up.

My favorite part was probably the emails between Beth and Jennifer.  Out in the real world I work in an office, so I am quite familiar with the occasional use of symbols and a little gossip to help get through the day (although I would usually keep things to Communicator to avoid the paper trail of email :p).  I really liked their relationship and am glad that they each got their own little happy ending.

I liked how the characters all developed from the start of the story to the end, but I just couldn’t shake the creep factor.  That’s why I can only give it two out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

