Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

So most of what I heard about this was from people who were excited about the movie because of how great the book was.  Not exactly the best reason to read something but certainly not the worst.  Here is my review of Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Divergent - Veronica Roth

First off I am a huge fan of this setting.  I am usually somewhat take it or leave it with Dystopian settings, but the whole idea of multiple factions and their relationships is really interesting.  Aside from the usual cautionary tale of trying to focus on one thing to ‘fix’ humanity, you get these groups who take their opinions and actions on what virtue is best to an extreme.  The whole focus on group-think (or as it more often appeared in Dauntless mob-mentality) contrasted with conflict between all of the groups…it was just really well done.

I think the one thing that would sometimes take me out of the stories is just how important violence was for Tris to succeed.  I get that her faction was being considered soldiers, but it was pushed almost to the point of ‘wouldn’t some adults step in’.  I get the importance of fearlessness, but I would have rather had more trials in crazy stunts to face fears instead of actually attempting to kill people.

So yes…I am hooked.  I want to know what happens next and well before seeing it in theaters.  I give it four out of five stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth | I am Sam Tule

  2. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Divergent Series (a Book Review Follow Up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

