Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

I flew through Divergent and just had to find out what happened next.  (I think that’s one of the biggest perks of reading a series after everyone else did…you don’t have to wait for the next book to be published!)  Here is my review of Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

Insurgent (Divergent) - Veronica Roth

What I really liked about this book is that there were real consequences after the results of the first one.  The things that happened had impacts on the characters and how they interacted with each other.  I think it was necessary, and really well done.  I also really liked learning more about the other factions, and how none of them were made up of people who all totally thought the same way.  It was complicated and the way the conflict was being set up really needed to be complicated.

That being said, the conflict itself was good but not great.  I think this mostly has to do with the fact that this is the second book in a trilogy.  We need the big setup for an epic finale.  So while we got bits and pieces of an interesting story, it was all about setting up for the huge cliffhanger in the last few pages.

I have really high expectations for the final book in the series, but can’t give this one as high of a rating as I did the first.  It’s good but not great so I give it three out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Divergent Series (a Book Review Follow Up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

