Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I have flown through this series and had to see how it all ended.  Here is my review of Allegiant by Veronica Roth.

Allegiant (Divergent, #3) - Veronica Roth

We knew that there was going to be a big reveal with the way Insurgent ended.  Yes the reveal was a bit stunning, but as we started getting deeper into the land beyond the fence I was a little underwhelmed.  It was this ecosystem inside a slightly larger ecosystem with different people but the same issues.  It was almost like a cheap knockoff trying to be sold as the bigger deal.  I think I would have liked it better if we zoomed out to a higher level…maybe the government in DC?

I found the ending of the series had some really big hits and misses.  Tris’ ending was spoiled for me (stupid Pinterest!) so it wasn’t surprising, but I thought really appropriate and full circle.  I also thought that Four ended up in the right place when everything was said and done.  There were just other things (Evelyn being the huge one) that were just too neat and easy after everything we had been through.

I cared a lot about the characters I had gotten to known and what was going to happen with them.  I just don’t think everything quite measured up to the build up I had come to expect.  That’s why I just give it two out of five stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Some Last Thoughts on the Divergent Series (a Book Review Follow Up) | I am Sam Tule

Leave a Reply

