Book Review: The Admiral’s Bride by Suzanne Brockmann

I love being able to pick up an ebook at the drop of a hat through my library.  Of course impulse reads aren’t always a win.  Here is my review of The Admiral’s Bride by Suzanne Brockmann.

The Admiral's Bride - Suzanne Brockmann

I liked the idea of this book being something different.  I can’t really remember the last time I read a romance about adults with a big age difference.  I’ll admit have my own list of older men I would certainly say yes to.  I also was interested in the conflict they had set up.

That being said I really was consistently disappointed.  The pacing was off.  Things that I thought would have been more interesting kept happening off screen and then other parts of the story were just dragging out.  I also didn’t really get into Jake and Zoe as a couple.  They were both thinking different things than their actions and I just never really bought into them as a pair.

It was a good idea that just wasn’t executed very well.  Honestly I kept waiting for it to be over.  That’s why I give it one out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

