Things I’ve Read: Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg

Out in the real world I work in business.  So this has been on my to-read list for awhile.  Here are some thoughts on Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg.

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead - Sheryl Sandberg

The things I found the most valuable here was about women self-limiting while in the workplace.  In terms of things that I can probably see using myself professionally – that’s it.  Hopefully I can work towards making myself more visible within my team and stretch myself to new opportunities.

When it gets to the work/life balance part I find it a little harder to buy into.  Sure finding a partner who splits life at home is important, but having hired help is just not an option for everyone.  Working at that higher executive level where money makes things easier…I can imagine that rubbing some people the wrong way.

Overall I’m glad I read it.  It was shorter than I expected and easy to get through.  I think it’s worth checking out if you work in the world of business (especially as a woman).

Leave a Reply

