Book Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

I didn’t realize this was a prequel to City of Bones, but it was handy to borrow in my library so I decided to give it a try.  Here is my review of Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare.

Clockwork Angel (Infernal Devices) - Cassandra Clare

My favorite thing about this book is the setting and how that feels.  Just something about the writing style of the atmosphere seems really distinct and interesting.  I’m even more impressed when it’s all a kind of mysterious gray for historical London.  I feel like I’m not describing it well…but I did really like it.

This is the first book in a trilogy and we’re not supposed to get all of the information up front, but I do hope we get some answers for more of the characters we’ve gotten to meet.  I’m worried that it will feel drawn out to the point of getting boring if we just keep getting vague teasers.

Overall it’s a pretty solid start.  I’m curious enough about Tessa and the world she is getting to know that I’m ready to dive into the next part of the story.  I give it three out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

