Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay

I feel like a lot of fiction calls to Pride and Prejudice, but I liked that this one first called to Emma.  Here is my review of Dear Mr Knightley by Katherine Reay

Dear Mr. Knightley: A Novel - Katherine Reay

What I really liked about this book is how much Samantha grows and changes.  While taken to a more extreme (which makes sense given her rough childhood) there was a lot of her instinct reactions and ways of protecting herself mentally that I could relate to.  I think I’m not the only book blogger out there who will say they are a bit of an introvert and can hide behind their favorite stories and characters when the real world gets a little hard.

I think my biggest complaint with the book is the initial premise.  I wouldn’t want to be forced into bearing my soul to a strange benefactor…there’s just some strange voyeuristic edge to it that just wouldn’t sit well with me.  While we find out that Mr Knightley does have honorable intentions, I would just never want to be in debt to a mysterious stranger like that.

Certain aspects were predictable (I did figure out who Mr. Knightley really was somewhere between halfway and two thirds through) and some parts were unrealistic…but overall I really did like this story.  I said Samantha was a great main character, but the supporting cast we meet also really made the whole book more memorable.  I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

